Home > Personal > My 3 Words for 2013 – Control, Positive, Effective

My 3 Words for 2013 – Control, Positive, Effective

ScrabbleThe beginning of a new year is always exciting. You can start new. You are hopeful for a great upcoming year. You are optimistic. It is a time to reflect and plan for the future.

Just like last year, I’ve picked three words that I will keep in mind throughout 2013. The 3 words idea came to me when I read What Matters Now, a series of short essays each on a different word.

It’s a free eBook conceived by Seth Godin and edited by Ishita Gupta. Chris Brogan has encouraged others to select their 3 words for the year.

My 3 words for 2013 are Control, Positive and Effective.

CONTROL – Professionally, I need to do a better job of controlling the situation around me.  Others come into my area and I have allowed that way too often in the past.  I will be more forceful.
POSITIVE – I am basically a positive, happy person.  But there are times I am negative and complain.  I need not do this in 2013.  I want to be positive, happy, optimistic at all times.
EFFECTIVE – I’ve always been a person that gets things done.  Now not all of the stuff was effective.  I need to analyze better on what is effective.  Personally I need to make sure that I spend my time wisely.  Maybe it is not watching that TV show.  Maybe I should be a the gym getting healthier or volunteering at a charity event.
I will try to keep these 3 words in mind throughout the year.

In 2011 my 3 words were Focus, Streamline and Active.

In 2012 my 3 words were Relax, Engage and Active.  I think I did a good job on the 1st 2 words but definitely could have done better on the 3rd word.

What are your three words for 2013?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

