Home > Personal > My 3 Words for 2012 – Relax, Engage, Active

My 3 Words for 2012 – Relax, Engage, Active

The beginning of a new year is always exciting. You can start new.  You are hopefull for a great year.  You are optimistic. It is a time to refect and plan for the year.
Just like last year, I’ve picked three words that I will keep in mind throughout 2012.  The 3 words idea came to me when I read What Matters Now, a series of short essays each on a different word. It’s a free ebook conceived by Seth Godin and edited by Ishita Gupta.  Chris Brogan has encouraged others to select their 3 words for the year.
My 3 words for 2012 are Relax, Engage and Active.
Relax
RELAX – 
My mind is always on the go.  I do think about work way to much.  Often times waking up with thoughts of what needs to get done at work.  I do need to RELAX more and not worry about work, family and the future all the time.  Nothing is gained by being stressed.  I will take more moments to relax in 2012.
Engage

ENGAGE – 2011 was a busy year for me.  I did many things but often times they were done either individually or with my team at work.  I am much better at engaging with people then doing individual tasks.  I need to get out more and talk to clients, vendors, partners, employees and consultants.  I need to travel more and go where they are.  I need to expand myself and my comfort zone.  It will be fun to get out and ENGAGE with others and be very beneficial to myself, others and my company.

Active

ACTIVE – To get stuff done I need to be ACTIVE and “Just Do It” or “Ship It”. I need to have energy so eating right, getting the necessary sleep and working out are very important.  I need to stop sitting behind my desk and get outside and walk more.

I will try to keep these 3 words in mind throughout the year.
In 2011 my 3 words were focus, streamline and active.  I think I did a good job on the 1st 2 words but definitely could have done better on the 3rd word.  That is why I kept it for 2012.
What are your three words for 2012?
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

