Home > Marketing > If You Want Me to Follow You on Twitter – Give Me a Reason

If You Want Me to Follow You on Twitter – Give Me a Reason

LookTwitterIn recent meeting we discussed completeness of Twitter profiles and that got me thinking of how I determine what people or companies or organizations to follow.

I might become aware of someone on Twitter from the following:

  • You follow me
  • Someone I know recommends you or mentions you in a Following Friday (#FF)
  • I see a retweet (RT) from someone I follow of one of your tweets that interests me
  • You are following someone that I know
  • You come up in a search I do through Hootsuite or Twitter

I might want to follow you because of the following:

  • You are close to me geographically
  • You are someone I know
  • You are a person knowledgeable in marketing or social media
  • You might be a person that one of the companies or organizations that I do social media for would be interested in following you

So when I look to follow you on Twitter, here is what I look for:

  • On your profile I look at your picture if you are an individual or your logo if you are a company or organization.  If you have not spent the time to provide a picture that shows something to me.  If a person, make it a one person picture.  I know family and pets are important but this is your profile.
  • On your profile I read your bio.  If you do not have a bio, how can I decide who you are.  If you are a person, put down what you do and some of your interests.  If you are a company or organization put down what you do or sell.  It probably is the same wording as you have on your website.
  • On your profile I look at the website where I can get additional information on you or your company or organization.  If a company it should be your company’s website.  If a person it should be your personal website, your blog, your Linkedin page or your Facebook page.  If I am in doubt about following you this additional source of information might sway me in following you.
  • On your profile I look at the location you put in.  If I don’t know where you are located I probably will not follow you.  Have your city, your county or your location such as “Southern California” on your profile.  If you are local to me and someone that I can meet at a local Tweetup I might be swayed to follow you.
  • I look to see if you protect your tweets and make me send you a request to follow.  Protected tweets sends me a message that you only want to communicate with a very close group of people.
  • I look at how many tweets or updates you have sent out.  If you have sent out no updates or only a few that does not make me want to follow you.  I tell newbies to send out Tweets even if you don’t have any followers yet.  Show people what you tweet about.
  • I look at your recent tweets and see what you tweet out about.  If it is the same tweet all the time that does not interest me.  If your tweets are only about you then that does not interest me.  If your tweets are just quotes or retweets then that does not interest me.
  • I look at the last time you sent a tweet or update.  If it is over a month ago I will not follow you.  I can see taking a few days or weeks off from Twitter but over 30 days is too long for me.
  • I look at how many people or accounts you follow.  I might be interested in following you in the hope that you follow me back.  I understand that some people, companies and organizations have accounts only for sending out information and do not follow back.  But others I want to see that you do follow people back.

So in summary complete your profile and send out interesting tweets.  Give me a reason to follow you.

Categories: Marketing Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

