Home > Marketing > If You Want Me to Tweet Your Words, Make It Easy for Me and Give Me What I Need

If You Want Me to Tweet Your Words, Make It Easy for Me and Give Me What I Need

I tweet for myself, various companies and various nonprofit organizations.  I am always looking for words to tweet to followers.  And I have to decide what twitter account I am going to use to send out the words.  Many people who are not Twitters email me, asking me to tweet out about some event they are having or special they are having.  I’ve been in marketing a long time so know what to provide others who will use it for promotion.  But many do not have the expertise.  So here are some guidelines for anyone giving others wording to be used in a tweet:

  • Twitter messages have a maximum length of 140 characters. So limit the number of characters to no more then 140 characters.  But the desire is to have the tweet retweeted by others so limit your characters to no more than 125 characters so the person’s twitter id can be added to the retweet.  Abbreviate where possible.  Instead of “Sunday, July 4, 2010 from 8:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.” give it to me as “7/4 from 8am-1:30pm”.  Give it to me in the least amount of characters.
  • If the message concerns an event then make sure you provide me with at least the date of the event.
  • Remember that tweets can go to other parts of the country and to other countries.  So if it is an event make sure you mention the geographical location of the event such as the city it will be held in.
  • Make your message interesting.  Don’t make me spend the extra time to be your marketing person and make it interesting.  You know what you want to say.  Put the interesting part of the message 1st.
  • Most importantly, Tweets are brief so include a URL link to a website page for further information (i.e. directions, cost, details on special, conditions, sponsor of event, etc.).  This also helps the person who is tweeting it out to get the correct information.
  • Also give me time to schedule your tweet.  Timing is important for tweets.  Some tweets are better for night time readers of tweets.  Some are better for day time readers of tweets.  Give me some guidance on who you are trying to attract to your event or special.  This will aid me in when I schedule the Tweet.

Hope these guidelines will help you when communicating messages to others that you want tweeted out.  The more you do on the front end the better the message that will be sent out and the easier it will be for the sender.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

