Home > Personal > Share Your Skills

Share Your Skills

ShareSkillI just read Chris Brogan’s (@chrisbrogan) blog entry regarding “Put Your Skills to Use” dated December 13, 2009. Full agreement and I have already been doing it. Chris said he was inspired by Chris Kieff’s (@Ckieff) idea to Make a Facebook Page for someone. I was inspired by the blog entry and now I’m hoping I will inspire someone.

I’m pretty good on Linkedin. When friends lose their job they don’t know what to do. I tell them get a Linkedin account, update your profile, connect with people you know and get recommendations. Of course they say how do I do that. I quickly arrange a meeting at a local coffee shop with wireless and show them what I have done and set up their Linkedin account and profile for them. I then connect with them, write a quick recommendation for them and add them to a group or two. Takes an hour but it gets my friend moving on their job search. I followup with them in a few days to see how they are doing and provide some more suggestions.  They are appreciative and I feel good.  Win Win.

Kieff’s point is that you know how to do it and there are people you know that could use your help. You can assist people with money or with your time. Giving your time is more meaningful and rewarding. Maybe you know how to do Twitter backgrounds. Maybe you know how to shoot videos for YouTube. Maybe you know how to post pictures on Flickr. Everyone has a talent or skill that they can share. I actually see those without jobs and independent consultants sharing their time more than those with jobs. That should not be the case. Everyone should donate their time to others – friends, family and people you hardly know.

I’m currently doing volunteer marketing services for a local nonprofit. They use Constant Contact as their email newsletter tool. I know it quite well. So it was a perfect fit. I enjoy the people at this nonprofit and they like me. I feel good when I leave their office every week. They think that they are getting a great deal from an experienced marketing person at no cost. I think I have the better deal with them.

So pay it forward and share your skills and knowledge.  Let me know your share stories.

  1. chamberwebmaster
    December 14, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    I’d love for you to add this story to the Facebook Group or my blog page on this meme.

    http://www.1goodreason.com/blog/2009/12/12/give-the-gift-of-a-facebook-page-to-someone-you-love-this-holiday/

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=200376104737

    Thanks,
    Chris Kieff

    • December 15, 2009 at 10:33 pm

      Chris, thanks for the reply and the post you did originally to get the ball rolling on this. Keep up the good work.

  2. December 15, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Great Blog! This is a message that is resonating and needs to spread. Here is a great example! http://bit.ly/5Uk7Vl

    • December 15, 2009 at 10:32 pm

      Chris, thanks for the reply. I totally agree. I just sent the link to the video you mentioned out to my Twitter followers. We’ll get the word out slowly but surely.

  3. Roshni Rawail
    December 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I think itz an absolutely onderful idea;and I’m all in for it! I sure wud love to share my skills wth as many people as I can–I am an educator(English-Language)
    wud really want/like to know how to go abt it…..

    • December 17, 2009 at 5:14 pm

      Roshni, thanks for the comment. Select one relative or friend that you would like to communicate better with. Find out what their computer skills are. Maybe they need help setting up their computer. Once they have their computer setup assist them with a tool that will allow them to better communicate to others. This could be email, Facebook, Linkedin, or Twitter. Then start communicating them with this tool and encourage them to use it. Let’s improve communication one person at a time. Wish you the best.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

